Nine Counties Removed from Fire Alert

Montgomery, AL – The state Forestry Commission has removed nine counties from a fire alert -- Autauga, Chilton, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Sumter and Wilcox. Residents will be able to receive outdoor burn permits because the damage from Hurricane Ivan was not as extensive in those areas. Forestry workers also say recent rainfall has alleviated some safety concerns. However, eight counties remain under a fire alert. Burn permits will not be issued to residents of Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington counties.