Quil Lawrence http://apr.org en Obama Taps Former Procter & Gamble Chief To Helm VA http://apr.org/post/obama-taps-former-procter-gamble-chief-helm-va President Obama has picked Robert McDonald, the former CEO of Procter & Gamble, to lead the Department of Veterans Affairs. If confirmed by the Senate, McDonald will face a difficult task. The VA is is embroiled in a controversy over falsified and lengthy wait times for veterans. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:17:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 54874 at http://apr.org Obama To Nominate Ex-Procter & Gamble Chief To Head VA http://apr.org/post/obama-nominate-ex-procter-gamble-chief-head-va Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And let's hear more about that nomination that Cokie just mentioned. Bob McDonald was CEO of Procter & Gamble, and now if confirmed by the Senate, he'll be running the Department of Veterans Affairs. The White House says that agency is under-resourced and is suffering from a, quote, "corrosive culture that led staff to fake their reports about how long veterans are waiting to get health care." Here to talk to us about that more, NPR veterans correspondent Quil Lawrence. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 09:19:55 +0000 Quil Lawrence 54838 at http://apr.org How The Kurds Could Benefit From Iraq's Crisis http://apr.org/post/how-kurds-could-benefit-iraqs-crisis The current crisis in Iraq has focused on the Sunni-Shiite conflict, but relatively little has been heard from the other major ethnic group in Iraq, the Kurds. And that's just the way the Kurds would like it.<p>The Kurds have been seeking an independent state for a century but have been stymied at every turn. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 18:44:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 54205 at http://apr.org How The Kurds Could Benefit From Iraq's Crisis Senate Version Adds Costs To VA Overhaul Measure http://apr.org/post/senate-version-adds-costs-va-overhaul-measure The Senate passed a bipartisan bill to overhaul the Department of Veterans Affairs. The measure is close enough to a version already passed by the House that it could reach the president's desk soon. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:12:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 53729 at http://apr.org In A Rare Act Of Bipartisan Speed, Senate Passes VA Reforms http://apr.org/post/rare-act-bipartisan-speed-senate-passes-va-reforms The Senate has passed a bill to reform the Department of Veterans Affairs. Like a similar bill in the House, the Senate bill gives veterans the option of seeking private care if the VA takes too long and makes it easier to fire VA employees. But the Senate version also spends a lot more money on doctors and hospitals than the House version. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 53713 at http://apr.org With More Veterans Needing Health Care, What Will The Cost Be? http://apr.org/post/more-veterans-needing-health-care-what-will-cost-be A new generation of American vets is home from war — about 2.6 million of them. And there are about 10 million older veterans, many from the Vietnam era, hitting their 60s, 70s or 80s. Taking care of both groups is getting expensive.<p>"If they can afford to pay for wars, they can afford to pay for the treatment after the wars," says Garry Augustine, with Disabled American Veterans. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 19:29:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 53619 at http://apr.org With More Veterans Needing Health Care, What Will The Cost Be? Audit Reveals Vast Scale Of VA Waitlist Issues http://apr.org/post/audit-reveals-vast-scale-va-waitlist-issues Before former Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki stepped down, he ordered an audit of the VA system, hoping to find how many hospitals were lying about wait times. The audit found that approximately 100,000 veterans are waiting too long for care at the VA. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 53548 at http://apr.org VA Health Care's Chronic Ailments: Long Waits And Red Tape http://apr.org/post/va-health-cares-chronic-ailments-long-waits-and-red-tape More than 2.5 million veterans served in Iraq and Afghanistan, and they qualify for health care and benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 19:36:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 53246 at http://apr.org VA Health Care's Chronic Ailments: Long Waits And Red Tape Can Civilian Health Care Help Fix The VA? Congress Weighs In http://apr.org/post/can-civilian-health-care-help-fix-va-congress-weighs Veterans across the country are still waiting too long for medical care, a situation that drove the <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/05/30/317372486/embattled-veterans-affairs-secretary-eric-shinseki-resigns">resignation</a> of Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki last week.<p>Now Republicans and Democrats in Congress are competing to pass laws they think will fix the problem of medical wait times and other problems at the VA. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:45:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 53196 at http://apr.org Can Civilian Health Care Help Fix The VA? Congress Weighs In Shinseki's Apology Punctuates A Long Career Of Service http://apr.org/post/shinsekis-apology-punctuates-long-career-service Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki apologized for lengthy waits at VA facilities, saying he's ousting the leaders of a VA hospital in Phoenix, Ariz., after stories about delays in care there. Shinseki's decision to resign marks a muddy end to an illustrious career, which began when he joined the Army nearly five decades ago. Fri, 30 May 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 52967 at http://apr.org Embattled Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki Resigns http://apr.org/post/embattled-veterans-affairs-secretary-eric-shinseki-resigns Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning, let's hear more now about the resignation of Eric Shinseki, Secretary of Veterans Affairs. President Obama says he accepted that resignation a short time ago at the White House. He had just finished making a statement after the two men held a short private meeting. Fri, 30 May 2014 15:57:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 52952 at http://apr.org VA Secretary Apologizes For 'Indefensible' Treatment Delays http://apr.org/post/va-secretary-apologizes-indefensible-treatment-delays Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm David Greene.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. Eric Shinseki, the embattled secretary of Veterans Affairs, meets this hour with President Obama at the White House. Now, earlier today, Shinseki spoke at a conference on homeless veterans, and addressed what he called the elephant in the room. Fri, 30 May 2014 15:18:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 52949 at http://apr.org Veterans' 'Philoctetes' Puts Modern Spin On Ancient Greek Play http://apr.org/post/veterans-philoctetes-puts-modern-spin-ancient-greek-play Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. There's an ancient Greek play by Sophocles about a war hero with a wound so horrible that none of his comrades can stand to hear his cries of pain. They abandon the soldier on an island but then discover that they can't win the war without him. Well, now a modern production of that play casts a woman as the soldier with the unspeakable wound. The actors in the chorus are veterans from Iraq and Afghanistan. Thu, 29 May 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 52904 at http://apr.org Report Finds Systemic Problems With VA Wait Lists http://apr.org/post/report-finds-systemic-problems-va-wait-lists Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>A systemic problem nationwide - that's how the Inspector General for Veterans Affairs has described the problem of falsified wait times at VA medical centers. At one facility in Phoenix, veterans waited on average 115 days for an appointment.<p>Today's report confirms some of the allegations that have led many to call for VA Secretary Eric Shinseki to resign. Here to tell us more about this initial report is NPR's Quil Lawrence. And, Quil, 115 days, that's a very long time to wait for an appointment. Wed, 28 May 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 52820 at http://apr.org VA's Health System: Some Love It, Some Hate It http://apr.org/post/vas-health-system-some-love-it-some-hate-it Nearly 30 VA facilities are accused of falsifying statistics on how long veterans must wait for care. President Obama said the problems go back decades, but most veterans are satisfied with the care. Thu, 22 May 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 52438 at http://apr.org