Melissa Block http://apr.org en LBJ Carried Poor Texas Town With Him In Civil Rights Fight http://apr.org/post/lbj-carried-poor-texas-town-him-civil-rights-fight <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EizAeISiHDM</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:52:00 +0000 Melissa Block 50046 at http://apr.org LBJ Carried Poor Texas Town With Him In Civil Rights Fight Drilling Frenzy Fuels Sudden Growth In Small Texas Town http://apr.org/post/drilling-frenzy-fuels-sudden-growth-small-texas-town South Texas is in the midst of a massive oil boom. In just a few years, it has totally transformed once-sleepy communities along a crescent swoosh known as the Eagle Ford Shale formation and has brought unexpected prosperity — along with a host of new concerns.<p>Among the towns drastically changed by the drilling is Cotulla, southwest of San Antonio, about 70 miles up from the border with Mexico. The area is called brush country — flat, dry ranch land, scrubby with mesquite and parched by drought.<p>Before the boom, jobs were few and poverty was high. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Melissa Block 49959 at http://apr.org Drilling Frenzy Fuels Sudden Growth In Small Texas Town In NCAA Finals, Two Recent Champions On Unlikely Rides http://apr.org/post/ncaa-finals-two-recent-champions-unlikely-rides Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>It's Huskies versus Wildcats as the Men's Division I college basketball season comes to an end tonight. Facing off are two recent champions: the University of Connecticut, who won in 2011, and the University of Kentucky who won in 2012. They've both had improbable rides to tonight's title game.<p>For more, I'm joined by NPR's Tom Goldman who will be covering the game in Arlington, Texas. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Melissa Block 49759 at http://apr.org Another Tragedy For A City All Too Familiar With Extreme Gun Violence http://apr.org/post/another-tragedy-city-all-too-familiar-extreme-gun-violence Flags are fluttering at half-staff across Killeen, Texas, <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/03/298699681/fort-hood-shooting-the-latest">after yesterday's shooting at Fort Hood</a>. This is a city that's all too familiar with spasms of extreme gun violence: a shooting rampage at <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/1991/10/17/us/gunman-kills-22-and-himself-in-texas-cafeteria.html">Luby's Cafeteria in 1991</a> that left 23 dead. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:27:00 +0000 Melissa Block 49591 at http://apr.org Another Tragedy For A City All Too Familiar With Extreme Gun Violence On Base And In Town, Shooting Summons A Dread All Too Familiar http://apr.org/post/base-and-town-shooting-summons-dread-all-too-familiar From Killeen, Texas, where Fort Hood is based, Melissa Block talks to soldiers who were on base during the shooting, as well as with Killeen's mayor. The mayor explains how the town is trying to cope. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:43:00 +0000 Melissa Block 49580 at http://apr.org As Texas Gets More Diverse, Educators Grab The Bull By The Horns http://apr.org/post/state-diversifies-texas-educators-grab-bull-horns Texas is in the midst of a population boom and demographic sea change. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Melissa Block 49448 at http://apr.org As Texas Gets More Diverse, Educators Grab The Bull By The Horns Orthotic Brace Takes Soldiers From Limping To Leaping http://apr.org/post/orthotic-brace-takes-soldiers-limping-leaping A deceptively simple leg brace is changing the lives of hundreds of wounded service members. Soldiers with badly injured legs who thought they'd have to live with terrible pain can walk and run again, pain-free.<p>Earlier this month, Army Spc. Joey McElroy took his first steps in the Intrepid Dynamic Exoskeletal Orthosis, or IDEO (pronounced: eye-DAY-oh). The device squeaked a bit as he stepped briskly on an indoor track.<p>McElroy was hit by a car and thrown from his motorcycle on Dec. 5, 2012.<p>"I knew that when I looked down there was bones comin' out of the leg that didn't look correct. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:57:00 +0000 Melissa Block 49354 at http://apr.org Orthotic Brace Takes Soldiers From Limping To Leaping Tell Your Bestie: The OED Has New Words http://apr.org/post/tell-your-bestie-oed-has-new-words The Oxford English Dictionary is adding some 900 new words and phrases to its pages, with wackadoodle, bestie and DIYer among them. Melissa and Robert review some of the new entries. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Melissa Block 48437 at http://apr.org Fake Chef, Real Recipes — And The Food's Disgusting http://apr.org/post/fake-chef-real-recipes-and-foods-disgusting Nick Preuher is no chef; he only plays one on TV. More accurately, he has pretended to be one, appearing on various local morning television shows as a prank. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:18:00 +0000 Melissa Block 47822 at http://apr.org Letters: Genetic Experiments And Hopes For Saving Voices http://apr.org/post/letters-genetic-experiments-and-hopes-saving-voices Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Finally this hour: Your letters. We heard from Aaron Berger, a high school biology teacher in Minneapolis. He listened closely to our conversation this week about mitochondrial DNA. A debate is raging over whether women who want to have children but have errors in their DNA should be allowed to get a healthy transplant.<p>Berger wrote to add something he did not hear on our air: Mitochondria are the organelles that allow our cells to release energy from the nutrients in our food. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:07:00 +0000 Melissa Block 47580 at http://apr.org More Findings, More Questions About Value Of Mammograms http://apr.org/post/more-findings-more-questions-about-value-mammograms Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>There's new evidence out today that's raising questions about whether women in their 40's and 50's should routinely undergo mammography to detect breast cancer. A new analysis of a big Canadian study found no evidence that regular mammograms save lives. The study even suggests that for many women, regular breast X-rays may do more harm than good.<p>NPR's Rob Stein joins us now to talk about this report. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Melissa Block 46683 at http://apr.org Sidelined By Brain Injury, Ex-NFL Player Copes With 'Desperation' http://apr.org/post/sidelined-brain-injury-ex-nfl-player-copes-desperation The home of Sean Morey bears the impressive signposts of his 10-year career in the NFL: a Vince Lombardi trophy for his Super Bowl championship with the Pittsburgh Steelers in 2006. A hefty Super Bowl ring. A framed photograph showing Morey in midair, launching himself like a missile to block a punt. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 22:56:00 +0000 Melissa Block 46009 at http://apr.org Sidelined By Brain Injury, Ex-NFL Player Copes With 'Desperation' JPMorgan Chase Agrees To Pay $5.1 Billion To Feds http://apr.org/post/jpmorgan-chase-agrees-pay-51-billion-feds JPMorgan Chase agreed pay $5.1 billion to settle litigation over mortgage assets sold during the housing bubble. The deal, announced late Friday afternoon, is to resolve claims the company misled Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac before the housing market crashed. It is part of a tentative $13 billion deal the company is trying to reach with federal and state agencies over its mortgage liabilities. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 22:28:00 +0000 Melissa Block & Dan Bobkoff 40451 at http://apr.org Brazil's New Middle Class: A Better Life, Not An Easy One http://apr.org/post/brazils-new-middle-class-better-life-not-easy-one Tens of millions of Brazilians have risen out of poverty over the past decade in one of the world's great economic success stories. The reasons are many: strong overall economic growth, fueled by exports. A rise in the minimum wage. A more educated workforce. And big government spending programs, including direct payments to extremely poor families.<p>But becoming middle class in Brazil means a better life, not an easy one. The new, lowest rung of the middle class is what in the U.S. Wed, 18 Sep 2013 21:28:00 +0000 Melissa Block 38146 at http://apr.org Brazil's New Middle Class: A Better Life, Not An Easy One The Secret To One Brazilian Street Treat: Make It With Love http://apr.org/post/secret-brazilian-street-treat-make-it-love Melissa Block is in Olinda, Brazil where a street vendor teaches her the secret to making Brazilian-style tapioca. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 20:57:00 +0000 Melissa Block 38061 at http://apr.org