Don Noble

Books
2:23 pm
Mon July 1, 2013

The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession

Credit www.amazon.com

“The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession” 

Author: Charlie Lovett

Publisher: Viking

Pages: 352

Price: $27.95 (Cloth)

The title of “The Bookman’s Tale” is meant, I think, to remind one of Chaucer: “The Knight’s Tale,” “The Pardoner’s Tale,” etc. It sets an appropriately antiquarian mood, and much of this novel deals with the antiquarian, the rare and antique.

Read more
Books
12:50 pm
Tue June 18, 2013

A Rare Titanic Family: The Caldwells’ Story of Survival

Credit www.amazon.com

“A Rare Titanic Family: The Caldwells’ Story of Survival”

Author: Julie Hedgepeth Williams

Publisher: NewSouth Books

Pages: 194

Price: $21.95 (paper)

Read more
Books
12:32 pm
Tue June 18, 2013

The Darkling

Credit www.amazon.com

“The Darkling”

Author: R.B. Chesterton

Publisher: Pegasus Crime

Pages: 348

Price: $24.95

R.B. Chesterton, author of “The Darkling,” is in fact Carolyn Haines, known best for her “Bones” series of detective novels set in Mississippi. This is not a secret; it is on the title page.

Haines intends here to begin a series of horror stories, supernatural chillers, in the vein of Stephen King or V.C. Andrews.

Read more
Books
11:00 am
Tue December 18, 2012

My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop

Credit www.amazon.com

My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop

Editor: Ronald Rice and Booksellers Across America

Introduction by Richard Russo

Illustrations by Leif Parsons

Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers, Inc.

Pages: 378

Price: $23.95 (Cloth)

There is a wave of justified anxiety moving among the bookstore owners and patrons of America; the number of independent bookstores has been declining steadily since the 1990s.

Read more
Books
10:48 am
Tue December 18, 2012

Sins of the Father: The True Story of a Family Running from the Mob

Credit www.amazon.com

Sins of the Father: The True Story of a Family Running from the Mob

Author: Nick Taylor

Publisher: Pocket Star Books

Pages: 485

Price: $9.99 (Paper)

Much of the narrative “Sins of the Father” will be familiar to viewers of the TV show “In Plain Sight.” The U.S. Marshall’s Service takes those who are to testify in high profile cases, whose lives would definitely be in danger because of that testimony, and puts them into the Witness Protection Program.

Read more
Books
10:35 am
Tue December 18, 2012

Leaving Tuscaloosa

Credit www.amazon.com

Leaving Tuscaloosa

Author: Walter Bennett

Publisher: Fuze Publishing

Pages: 313

Price: $16.95 (Paper)

A novel called “Leaving Tuscaloosa” is simply irresistible to a resident, past or present, of Tuscaloosa. Bennett, who grew up in Tuscaloosa and has had a long career as a lawyer, law professor and judge, now lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and has studied fiction writing with Lee Smith, among others.

Read more
Books
10:27 am
Tue December 18, 2012

Doc: The Story of a Birmingham Jazz Man

Credit www.amazon.com

Doc: The Story of a Birmingham Jazz Man

Author: Frank “Doc” Adams and Burgin Mathews

Publisher: The University of Alabama Press

Pages: 267

Price: $34.95 (Cloth)

The reader can tell that Burgin Mathews put in a heap of work on this book, interviewing “Doc” Adams dozens of times, transcribing the interviews from nearly a hundred cassette tapes, and editing, cutting, and arranging the material.

Read more
Books
10:17 am
Tue December 18, 2012

Tasia’s Table: Cooking with the Artisan Cheesemaker at Belle Chevre

Credit www.amazon.com

Tasia’s Table: Cooking with the Artisan Cheesemaker at Belle Chevre

Author: Tasia Malakasis, Photography by Stephanie Schamban

Publisher: NewSouth Books

Pages: 143

Price: $29.95

We are used to chef stories like that of Jacques Pepin, who worked as a child in his mother’s restaurant in France, or Anthony Bourdain, who began as a young fellow and worked his way up.

Read more
Literary Reviews
3:35 pm
Thu June 21, 2012

Over Time: My Life As a Sportswriter

New York Times

Author: Frank Deford

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

Pages: 354

Price: $25.00

Read more