Alabama Public Radio http://apr.org en Science Vs. Religion: Beyond The Western Traditions http://apr.org/post/science-vs-religion-beyond-western-traditions In the United States, the debate between science and religion seems to be powered by a perpetual motion machine. The claims that Neil deGrasse Tyson's inspired <em>Cosmos</em> series was <a href="http://www.salon.com/2014/04/04/cosmic_meltdown_neil_degrasse_tyson_under_siege_from_christian_right_partner/">anti-religious</a> stands as the latest salvo in a long battle that generates lots heat but very little light. Having been in many of these debates, both formally and informally, I'm often struck by how narrow the discussion remains. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 17:30:38 +0000 Adam Frank 55680 at http://apr.org Science Vs. Religion: Beyond The Western Traditions Soccer's Racism Problem In Need Of Follow-Through http://apr.org/post/soccers-racism-problem-need-follow-through <em>Each week,</em><em> </em>Weekend Edition Sunday<em> </em><em>brings listeners an unexpected side of the news by talking with someone personally affected by the stories making headlines.</em><p>The 2014 World Cup winds down Sunday after a month of competition in which FIFA tried to emphasize unity and multiculturalism. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 17:30:23 +0000 NPR Staff 55679 at http://apr.org Soccer's Racism Problem In Need Of Follow-Through Netherlands Dominates Brazil To Win Third Place In World Cup http://apr.org/post/netherlands-dominates-brazil-win-third-place-world-cup Coming off of a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/08/329898310/not-a-misprint-germany-leads-brazil-5-0-at-halftime">devastating loss to Germany</a>, World Cup host Brazil's chances at redemption were dashed by the Netherlands on Saturday. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 17:30:08 +0000 Steve Mullis 55678 at http://apr.org Netherlands Dominates Brazil To Win Third Place In World Cup Antares Blasts Off On ISS Supply Mission http://apr.org/post/antares-ready-blast-iss-supply-mission <strong>This post was updated at 1 p.m. ET.</strong><p>Private space venture <a href="https://twitter.com/OrbitalSciences">Orbital Sciences</a> launched its second official resupply mission to the International Space Station in <a href="http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html#.U8KqZUAmUhw">a perfect launch from at Wallops Island, Va, after several delays.</a><p>The Antares rocket, carrying an unmanned Cygnus resupply capsule packed with 3,293 lbs. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 16:28:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 55677 at http://apr.org 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' http://apr.org/post/without-tommy-theres-no-ramones Punk rock music has lost one of its earliest pioneers.<p>Tommy Ramone <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/12/330893277/tommy-ramone-last-original-member-of-the-ramones-dies-at-62">died of cancer on Friday</a> at his home in Queens, N.Y. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 55676 at http://apr.org 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' Desmond Tutu Backs Britain's 'Assisted Dying' Bill http://apr.org/post/desmond-tutu-backs-britains-assisted-dying-bill Retired Anglican bishop Desmond Tutu, who describes as "disgraceful" the way former South African President Nelson Mandela was treated in his last, enfeebled days, has thrown his support behind a British assisted-dying bill.<p>"I have been fortunate to spend my life working for dignity for the living. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 13:55:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 55675 at http://apr.org Desmond Tutu Backs Britain's 'Assisted Dying' Bill Founders Claimed A Subversive Right To 'Nature's God' http://apr.org/post/founders-claimed-subversive-right-natures-god The U.S. was not founded as a Christian nation, says historian Matthew Stewart. He tells NPR's Arun Rath about his book Nature's God: The Heretical Origins of the American Republic. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 13:52:00 +0000 editor 55674 at http://apr.org What Will Become Of Obama's Request For Immigration Relief Funds? http://apr.org/post/what-will-become-obamas-request-immigration-relief-funds NPR's Arun Rath talks to political correspondent Mara Liasson about the chances of a political agreement over how to handle the migration of thousands of Central American children. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 13:52:00 +0000 editor 55673 at http://apr.org Like Humans, Chimps Fall For Fashion Trends http://apr.org/post/humans-chimps-fall-fashion-trends It's long been known that chimps learn from each other to make useful tools. Now researchers have seen them copy each other's "fashion statement," Dr. Katherine Cronin tells NPR's Arun Rath. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 13:52:00 +0000 editor 55672 at http://apr.org Moscow Warns Ukraine Over Alleged Shelling Of Russian Town http://apr.org/post/moscow-warns-ukraine-over-alleged-shelling-russian-town Moscow says artillery shells fired from Ukrainian territory killed one person and wounded two others in a Russian border town. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:46:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 55671 at http://apr.org Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? http://apr.org/post/can-brazil-regain-soccer-glory-beauty-over-brawn Copacabana Beach is supposed to be fun, but it wasn't Saturday night, after the Netherlands beat Brazil 3-0 in the World Cup third-place game.<p>That loss came on the heels of the 7-1 drubbing by Germany earlier in the week. It's the first time since 1940 that Brazil has lost consecutive home games, prompting calls for change in a country long associated with soccer splendor.<p>Sunday's championship match pits Germany against Argentina in Rio de Janeiro. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 55669 at http://apr.org Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? Palestinians Flee Gaza After Israel Drops Warning Leaflets http://apr.org/post/palestinians-flee-gaza-after-israel-drops-warning-leaflets <strong>This post was updated at 11:00 a.m. ET.</strong><p>Thousands of people are fleeing a border town in the Gaza Strip after Israel dropped leaflets warning of stepped up attacks on the sixth day of an offensive. Meanwhile, an Israeli commando squad crossed into Gaza today to destroy a Hamas rocket-launching site.<p>The commando raid is the first incursion of Israeli troops into Gaza since the beginning of the offensive, which Palestinian officials say has killed 160 people.<p>NPR's Ari Shapiro, reporting from Jerusalem, says that up until now, it's been entirely an air war. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 55670 at http://apr.org Palestinians Flee Gaza After Israel Drops Warning Leaflets A Puzzle With Ch-Ch-Changes http://apr.org/post/puzzle-ch-ch-changes <strong>On-air challenge:</strong> Today's puzzle is called "Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes." Every answer is a word starting with the letters "ch," and your clue will be an anagram of the word.<p><strong>Last week's challenge:</strong> Name a famous actress of the past whose last name has five letters. Move the middle letter to the end to name another famous actress of the past. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Will Shortz 55668 at http://apr.org A Puzzle With Ch-Ch-Changes Ebola Invades 'The New York Times' Sunday Crossword http://apr.org/post/ebola-invades-new-york-times-sunday-crossword Last Sunday I literally was clueless about a<em> New York Times</em> crossword puzzle clue: "Menace named after an African river." The answer was five letters long. WHAT WERE THEY?!?!<p>I finally did figure out the answer from the crossing words: Ebola. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:31:00 +0000 Marc Silver 55667 at http://apr.org Ebola Invades 'The New York Times' Sunday Crossword The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever http://apr.org/post/most-astonishing-wave-tracking-experiment-ever I'm standing on a beach and I see, a few hundred yards out, a mound of water heading right at me. It's not a wave, not yet, but a swollen patch of ocean, like the top of a moving beach ball, what sailors call a "swell." As it gets closer, its bottom hits the rising shore below, forcing the water up, then over, sending it tumbling onto the beach, a tongue of foam coming right up to my toes — and that's when I look down, as the wave melts into the sand and I say,<p>"Hi, I'm from New York. But what about you? Where are you from?"<p>Yes, I'm asking a wave to tell me where it was born. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 55664 at http://apr.org The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever