Alabama state police say they've issued 59 citations for texting-while-driving since a ban went into effect Aug. 1.
The Montgomery Advertiser reported the year-to-date numbers (http://on.mgmadv.com/RS0lnK ).
Alabama State Patrol officials say they issued the 59 citations, and they've only heard of seven citations being written by other law enforcement agencies in the state.
The texting-white-driving law, sponsored by Springville Republican Rep. Jim McClendon, was signed by Gov. Robert Bentley in May. It provides for a fine of $25 for a first offense, $50 for a second and $75 for each subsequent offense. Each conviction would carry a two-point penalty on a license.
Drivers can send text messages through voice-activated software, and may use the device while parked on a shoulder, or to summon emergency services.
Information from: Montgomery Advertiser, http://www.montgomeryadvertiser.com
Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.