FEMA Authorizes Aid for More Alabama Counties

May 9, 2014

Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley says the state has been approved for more federal disaster assistance to help five counties recover from severe storms in late April.

Bentley says the Federal Emergency Management Agency has authorized residents of Blount, DeKalb, Etowah, Mobile and Tuscaloosa to apply for individual assistance, which could range from money for temporary housing to home repairs and assistance with medical bills.

Bentley says loans may also be available to homeowners through the U.S. Small Business administration for expenses that aren't covered by insurance.

The governor's initial request for assistance included Baldwin, Lee, Limestone and Jefferson counties.