5 Alabama Schools Named Blue Ribbon Schools

Sep 7, 2012

State and federal education officials are recognizing five Alabama schools which have been designated Blue Ribbon Schools this year. Officials say the schools earned the distinction based on their overall academic excellence or for making progress in improving student academic achievement levels. U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan recognized 269 schools nationwide as 2012 Blue Ribbon Schools The Alabama schools honored are Daphne High School in Baldwin County; Forest Hills School in Florence City; Liberty Middle School in Madison City; Piedmont High School in Piedmont City; and Spencer Elementary School in Mobile County. Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.