Jeremy Loeb

Morning Host / Reporter

Jeremy Loeb is a reporter and former APR host of Morning Edition. He joined the station in December of 2013 and stayed with us until November 2014.

Jeremy grew up in Durham, North Carolina. He got his start in radio as an intern at WHQR Public Radio in Wilmington, NC while attending the University of North Carolina Wilmington. He was an operations assistant, host of All Things Considered, and was one of a rotating roster of hosts for an eclectic half-hour music program during his six years there. He then spent two years back near his hometown, living in Carrboro, NC while working for North Carolina Public Radio – WUNC. He was a reporter, a Morning Edition producer, and backup host for All Things Considered.

After two years, he followed his girlfriend up to Washington D.C. where he slacked off and drove a pedicab on the National Mall. But he finally decided to “get it together” and returned to WHQR to be their All Things Considered host.

He was also a producer for two years on A Season’s Griot, out of Wilmington, the only nationally-syndicated Kwanzaa program in the country, and filled in for a short time as a producer on WUNC’s local affairs program The State of Things. Jeremy loves riding his bike and blasting indie bands in his headphones. He’s also a lifelong Duke fan but will pretend to be a Tide fan for the time being due to safety concerns.

Ways to Connect

7am Newscast

Wednesday August 20, 2014

byrne.house.gov

Alabama Congressman Bradley Byrne is pushing for changes to education in Alabama that he says will make the system work better.  He says in speaking with school superintendents in the Mobile area, one thing he’s hearing a lot is that the federal government is at times making the jobs of educators' lives harder.

6am Newscast

Monday August 18, 2014

7am Newscast

Friday August 15, 2014

6am Newscast

Thursday August 14, 2014

6am Newscast

Wednesday August 13, 2014

outdooralabama.com

Black bears have been in the news lately as reports of sightings seem to be on the rise.  But whether that means there are more bears in Alabama is a big question.  Todd Steury, an Auburn professor who studies black bears, says there are likely more bears in the state.  That includes a population in the Mobile area, some in northwest Alabama and an influx in the northeast.  He says some of the reasons could be natural because male bears tend to wander far from home to settle.

6am Newscast

Tuesday August 12, 2014

6am Newscast

Monday August 11, 2014

6am Newscast

Friday August 8, 2014

6am Newscast

Thursday August 7, 2014

7am Newscast

Wednesday August 6, 2014

6am Newscast

Tuesday August 5, 2014

6am Newscast

Friday August 1, 2014

7am Newscast

Thursday July 31, 2014

arisecitizens.org

A new report details who exactly would benefit from expanded Medicaid in Alabama.  The advocacy group Alabama Arise and the national Families USA are highlighting the professions of the people who are being caught in the so-called “Medicaid Gap.”  Those are people who make too little to qualify for subsidies under the healthcare law but too much to qualify for Medicaid.  Authors of the Affordable Care Act had planned for states to expand Medicaid but many Republican-leanin

6am Newscast

Wednesday July 30, 2014

7am Newscast

Tuesday July 29, 2014

6am Newscast

Monday July 28, 2014

Gulf of Maine Research Institute via npr.org

The U.S. Department of Energy is rewarding researchers at the University of Alabama with a $1.5 million grant for their work.  It almost seems out of science fiction.  They’re using shrimp in a way that could potentially one day power America’s homes and businesses.  Robin Rogers is chair of chemistry at U.A. and the director of the university’s Center for Green Manufacturing.

Robin Rogers: “We’re taking a polymer that’s in the shrimp shells, and we’re turning it into a material which can remove uranium from the ocean.”

6am Newscast

Friday July 25, 2014

7am Newscast

Tuesday July 24, 2014

6am Newscast

Wednesday July 23, 2014

6am Newscast

Tuesday July 22, 2014

6am Newscast

Monday July 21, 2014

7am Newscast

Friday July 18, 2014

6am Newscast

Thursday July 17, 2014

6am Newscast

Wednesday July 16, 2014

6am Newscast

Tuesday July 15, 2014

Pages