Don Noble http://apr.org en The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession http://apr.org/post/bookman-s-tale-novel-obsession <p>“The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession”&nbsp;</p><p>Author: Charlie Lovett</p><p>Publisher: Viking</p><p>Pages: 352</p><p>Price: $27.95 (Cloth)</p><p>The title of “The Bookman’s Tale” is meant, I think, to remind one of Chaucer: “The Knight’s Tale,” “The Pardoner’s Tale,” etc. It sets an appropriately antiquarian mood, and much of this novel deals with the antiquarian, the rare and antique.</p> Mon, 01 Jul 2013 19:23:12 +0000 Don Noble 33335 at http://apr.org The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession A Rare Titanic Family: The Caldwells’ Story of Survival http://apr.org/post/rare-titanic-family-caldwells-story-survival-0 <p>“A Rare Titanic Family: The Caldwells’ Story of Survival”</p><p></p><p>Author: Julie Hedgepeth Williams</p><p>Publisher: NewSouth Books</p><p>Pages: 194</p><p>Price: $21.95 (paper)</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 17:50:12 +0000 Student Assistant 32599 at http://apr.org A Rare Titanic Family: The Caldwells’ Story of Survival The Darkling http://apr.org/post/darkling <p>“The Darkling”</p><p></p><p>Author: R.B. Chesterton</p><p>Publisher: Pegasus Crime</p><p>Pages: 348</p><p>Price: $24.95</p><p>R.B. Chesterton, author of “The Darkling,” is in fact Carolyn Haines, known best for her “Bones” series of detective novels set in Mississippi. This is not a secret; it is on the title page.</p><p>Haines intends here to begin a series of horror stories, supernatural chillers, in the vein of Stephen King or V.C. Andrews.</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 17:32:56 +0000 Student Assistant 32593 at http://apr.org The Darkling My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop http://apr.org/post/my-bookstore-writers-celebrate-their-favorite-places-browse-read-and-shop <p></p><p><strong><em>My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop</em></strong></p><p>Editor: Ronald Rice and Booksellers Across America</p><p>Introduction by Richard Russo</p><p>Illustrations by Leif Parsons</p><p>Publisher: Black Dog &amp; Leventhal Publishers, Inc.</p><p>Pages: 378</p><p>Price: $23.95 (Cloth)</p><p>There is a wave of justified anxiety moving among the bookstore owners and patrons of America; the number of independent bookstores has been declining steadily since the 1990s.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 17:00:03 +0000 Don Noble & Don Noble 22120 at http://apr.org My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop Sins of the Father: The True Story of a Family Running from the Mob http://apr.org/post/sins-father-true-story-family-running-mob <p><em><strong>Sins of the Father: The True Story of a Family Running from the Mob</strong></em></p><p>Author: Nick Taylor</p><p>Publisher: Pocket Star Books</p><p>Pages: 485</p><p>Price: $9.99 (Paper)</p><p>Much of the narrative “Sins of the Father” will be familiar to viewers of the TV show “In Plain Sight.” The U.S. Marshall’s Service takes those who are to testify in high profile cases, whose lives would definitely be in danger because of that testimony, and puts them into the Witness Protection Program.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:48:03 +0000 Don Noble & Don Noble 22119 at http://apr.org Sins of the Father: The True Story of a Family Running from the Mob Leaving Tuscaloosa http://apr.org/post/leaving-tuscaloosa <p><em><strong>Leaving Tuscaloosa</strong></em></p><p>Author: Walter Bennett</p><p>Publisher: Fuze Publishing</p><p>Pages: 313</p><p>Price: $16.95 (Paper)</p><p>A novel called “Leaving Tuscaloosa” is simply irresistible to a resident, past or present, of Tuscaloosa. Bennett, who grew up in Tuscaloosa and has had a long career as a lawyer, law professor and judge, now lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and has studied fiction writing with Lee Smith, among others.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:35:02 +0000 Don Noble & Don Noble 22117 at http://apr.org Leaving Tuscaloosa Doc: The Story of a Birmingham Jazz Man http://apr.org/post/doc-story-birmingham-jazz-man <p><em><strong>Doc: The Story of a Birmingham Jazz Man</strong></em></p><p>Author: Frank “Doc” Adams and Burgin Mathews</p><p>Publisher: The University of Alabama Press</p><p>Pages: 267</p><p>Price: $34.95 (Cloth)</p><p>The reader can tell that Burgin Mathews put in a heap of work on this book, interviewing “Doc” Adams dozens of times, transcribing the interviews from nearly a hundred cassette tapes, and editing, cutting, and arranging the material.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:27:31 +0000 Don Noble & Don Noble 22116 at http://apr.org Doc: The Story of a Birmingham Jazz Man Tasia’s Table: Cooking with the Artisan Cheesemaker at Belle Chevre http://apr.org/post/tasia-s-table-cooking-artisan-cheesemaker-belle-chevre <p><em><strong>Tasia’s Table: Cooking with the Artisan Cheesemaker at Belle Chevre</strong></em></p><p>Author: Tasia Malakasis, Photography by Stephanie Schamban</p><p>Publisher: NewSouth Books</p><p>Pages: 143</p><p>Price: $29.95</p><p>We are used to chef stories like that of Jacques Pepin, who worked as a child in his mother’s restaurant in France, or Anthony Bourdain, who began as a young fellow and worked his way up.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:17:13 +0000 Don Noble & Don Noble 22115 at http://apr.org Tasia’s Table: Cooking with the Artisan Cheesemaker at Belle Chevre Over Time: My Life As a Sportswriter http://apr.org/post/over-time-my-life-sportswriter <p>Author: Frank Deford</p><p>Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press</p><p>Pages: 354</p><p>Price: $25.00</p> Thu, 21 Jun 2012 20:35:11 +0000 Don Noble 1211 at http://apr.org Over Time: My Life As a Sportswriter