Alabama Education Superintendent Tommy Bice http://apr.org en Complaints Lead to New Student Enrollment Forms http://apr.org/post/complaints-lead-new-student-enrollment-forms <p><font color="red">Alabama's</font> school superintendent is telling all <font color="red">Alabama</font> public school systems to start using a new student enrollment process that makes clear a Social Security number or birth certificate is not necessary for enrollment.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:29:51 +0000 Associated Press 55565 at http://apr.org Complaints Lead to New Student Enrollment Forms Educators Conference in Tuscaloosa http://apr.org/post/educators-conference-tuscaloosa <p>School officials from throughout <font color="red">Alabama</font> are expected to gather in Tuscaloosa this week for an education conference.</p><p>The Tuscaloosa News <a href="http://www.tuscaloosanews.com/article/20140614/NEWS/140619863/1007?Title=Tuscaloosa-to-host-State-of-Our-School-education-summit-next-week" target="_blank">reports</a> state schools Superintendent Tommy Bice is scheduled as the main speaker for the annual State of Our Schools luncheon at the Hotel Capstone.</p><p></p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 10:54:14 +0000 Associated Press 53966 at http://apr.org Educators Conference in Tuscaloosa Alabama Releases New Failing Schools List http://apr.org/post/alabama-releases-new-failing-schools-list-0 <p></p><p>The Alabama Department of Education has announced the new list of failing public schools, where students can transfer to other non-failing public schools or to private schools.</p><p>The department says five schools were added to the new list. They are Barbour County Intermediate School, Lafayette High School, Abbeville High School, Jeremiah A. Denton Middle School in Mobile County, and Bessemer High School.</p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 21:37:48 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 45118 at http://apr.org Alabama Releases New Failing Schools List Ala. Critics Say School Texts Insult Christians http://apr.org/post/ala-critics-say-school-texts-insult-christians <p></p><p>Alabama's school board is postponing a decision on new school textbooks after conservatives complained they promote Islam and oppose Christianity.</p><p>State School Superintendent Tommy Bice asked for the delay Thursday following complaints by the Eagle Forum of Alabama and ACT for America.</p><p>The groups complained that 12 textbooks proposed for social studies classes have a pro-Muslim slant and are anti-Christian.</p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 21:50:40 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 43252 at http://apr.org Ala. Critics Say School Texts Insult Christians Alabama High School Graduation Exam Dropped http://apr.org/post/alabama-high-school-graduation-exam-dropped <p>Alabama's high school graduation exam is no more.</p><p>The State Board of Education voted Thursday to do away with the exam. State Superintendent of Education Tommy Bice says the test is no longer aligned with Alabama's academic standards for students. He says the requirement for graduating now is passing all required courses.</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 21:42:33 +0000 The Associated Press 41575 at http://apr.org Alabama High School Graduation Exam Dropped Ala. Superintendent Says Few Transferring Schools http://apr.org/post/ala-superintendent-says-few-transferring-schools <p></p><p>Alabama's public schools aren't seeing an exodus of students taking advantage of private school tax credits.</p><p>State Superintendent of Education Tommy Bice told the state school board Thursday that preliminary survey data shows 51 students have used the new Alabama Accountability Act to transfer from a failing public school to a private school.</p><p>He told AL.com that not all school systems have responded to a department survey, but he doesn't expect the figure to increase much because the state's largest systems have responded.</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 21:38:25 +0000 The Associated Press 36525 at http://apr.org Ala. Superintendent Says Few Transferring Schools Alabama School Chief Says Guns Still Prohibited http://apr.org/post/alabama-school-chief-says-guns-still-prohibited <p>Alabama's school superintendent is telling city and county school officials that policies prohibiting firearms on school property were not affected by the state's new gun law.</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 21:45:31 +0000 The Associated Press 35779 at http://apr.org Alabama School Chief Says Guns Still Prohibited Ala. School Chief Says No Social Security Card Needed http://apr.org/post/ala-school-chief-says-no-social-security-card-needed <P>With schools preparing to begin classes next month, Alabama's school superintendent is reminding city and county school officials that students don't need a Social Security number to enroll, and their parents don't need an Alabama driver's license or state-issued ID to enroll them.</P> <P>State Superintendent Tommy Bice sent a memo Monday saying that providing a child's Social Security number is voluntary. He says not providing a Social Security number won't bar a child from being enrolled. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:39:53 +0000 The Associated Press 34690 at http://apr.org Ala. School Chief Says No Social Security Card Needed Ala. Common Core Standards Still In Place http://apr.org/post/ala-common-core-standards-still-place <P>The sponsor of a bill to repeal the state's use of Common Core education standards has decided to kill his own bill.</P> <P>The chairman of the Senate Education Committee, Republican Dick Brewbaker of Montgomery, took the action Wednesday when it became clear his committee wouldn't remove the Common Core standards.</P> <P>Republican Sen. Bill Holtzclaw of Madison offered a substitute bill that kept the standards. Brewbaker moved to table it and lost by one vote. That's when Brewbaker moved to indefinitely postpone his own bill. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 20:36:27 +0000 The Associated Press 26635 at http://apr.org Ala. Common Core Standards Still In Place Education Leaders Say GOP 'Bushwhacked' Them http://apr.org/post/education-leaders-say-gop-bushwhacked-them <P>The governor says running over his own education allies was worth it to get tax credits to help children in failing public schools transfer to private schools.</P> <P>Gov. Robert Bentley says he and other Republican leaders didn't tell the state school superintendent and other education leaders that they were planning to expand a school flexibility bill into a tax credit bill because they would have opposed it. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 22:43:19 +0000 The Associated Press 25945 at http://apr.org Education Leaders Say GOP 'Bushwhacked' Them Panel Oks Bill To Give Ala. Schools Flexibility http://apr.org/post/panel-oks-bill-give-ala-schools-flexibility <P>The Alabama House Education Policy Committee has approved a bill to give local school systems the ability to waive certain regulations or requirements.</P> <P>The committee voted Wednesday afternoon in favor of the measure by Rep. Chad Fincher, R- Semmes.</P> <P>Supporters, including state schools Superintendent Tommy Bice, told lawmakers that research has shown reducing rules and regulations can increase creativity in the classroom. Wed, 06 Feb 2013 23:03:26 +0000 The Associated Press 24494 at http://apr.org Panel Oks Bill To Give Ala. Schools Flexibility School Safety to be Topic at Ala. Board Meeting http://apr.org/post/school-safety-be-topic-ala-board-meeting <P>The Alabama Board of Education will hold a work session to discuss ways to keep Alabama schools safe.</P> <DIV> <P>The work session will be at 10:30 a.m. Thursday at the Gordon Persons Building in Montgomery.</P> <P>Superintendent Tommy Bice has asked superintendents across the state to submit the safety plans for their schools in light of last month's shooting at a Connecticut elementary school.</P> <P>The school board session comes following a heavily attended Statehouse summit this month on ideas for keeping Alabama schools safe. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 13:17:48 +0000 The Associated Press 23675 at http://apr.org School Safety to be Topic at Ala. Board Meeting State Wants Plan to Address Grade-Changing Scandal http://apr.org/post/state-wants-plan-address-grade-changing-scandal <P>(Information in the following story is from: Montgomery Advertiser, http://www.montgomeryadvertiser.com)</P> <P>Alabama's state school superintendent says he expects the Montgomery County school system to have a plan by Christmas to make sure grade-changing doesn't occur again.</P> <P>State Superintendent Tommy Bice said the state Department of Education wants the plan for institutional control in place before the second semester starts. Fri, 14 Dec 2012 13:11:24 +0000 The Associated Press 21962 at http://apr.org State Wants Plan to Address Grade-Changing Scandal 1st Post-Recession Budget Offered For Ala. Schools http://apr.org/post/1st-post-recession-budget-offered-ala-schools <P>The State Board of Education is recommending its first post-recession budget for public schools. The budget recommendation approved Thursday seeks to replace one-third of the nearly 1,400 teaching positions that were cut during the recession.</P> <P>It also seeks to restore textbook spending and school operational funds that were cut.</P> <P>The board is recommending $4.1 billion for K-12 schools in the next school year. That's up $415 million from this year. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 23:15:48 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 20476 at http://apr.org 1st Post-Recession Budget Offered For Ala. Schools AEA Plans To Ask For Teacher Pay Raises http://apr.org/post/aea-plans-ask-teacher-pay-raises <P>Alabama Education Association plans to lobby to get teachers a 10 percent raise over the next two years if the money is available.</P> <P>AEA Executive Secretary Henry Mabry says it would be the first pay raise for teachers in five years. Mabry says inflation is hurting teacher incomes and good salaries help attract strong teachers and other personnel.</P> <P>AEA estimates the average teacher makes about $48,000 per year. Mon, 29 Oct 2012 21:42:03 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 19939 at http://apr.org AEA Plans To Ask For Teacher Pay Raises