Jacki Lyden http://apr.org en 'Baby Jane' Holzer's Flight From High Society To Warhol Superstar http://apr.org/post/baby-jane-holzers-flight-high-society-warhol-superstar <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TmW4zME8n3o</p> Sat, 15 Mar 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 48456 at http://apr.org 'Baby Jane' Holzer's Flight From High Society To Warhol Superstar Violence Abroad Threatens Students, As Do Guns At U.S. Schools http://apr.org/post/violence-abroad-threatens-students-do-guns-us-schools Last year, there were more than two-dozen shootings on or near college campuses in the United States. This past Tuesday, that number went up, with <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=265259128">the fatal shooting of a student at Purdue University</a>. Then Friday, <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/01/25/266014201/suspect-arrested-charged-in-fatal-campus-shooting">a fatal shooting at South Carolina State University</a>. Sat, 25 Jan 2014 17:14:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 45614 at http://apr.org Violence Abroad Threatens Students, As Do Guns At U.S. Schools Poems As 'Stepping Stones': Remembering Seamus Heaney http://apr.org/post/poems-stepping-stones-remembering-seamus-heaney The poet Seamus Heaney died Friday. Heaney won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995 and has been described as the "most important Irish poet since Yeats." Heaney was 74 years old. Host Jacki Lyden spoke to Heaney in 2008, and has this remembrance. Sun, 01 Sep 2013 21:04:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 37089 at http://apr.org Audio As Art At New York Exhibit http://apr.org/post/audio-art-new-york-exhibit Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF ARPEGGIO)<p>JACKI LYDEN, HOST: <p>Arpeggios ricochet through three speakers and envelop us. We're on the modernist Bauhaus staircase at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, listening to techno-inspired electronica. This piece is part of a new exhibit, "Soundings: A Contemporary Score," that opens today.<p>BARBARA LONDON: I wanted work that pushed limits, pushed boundaries.<p>LYDEN: That's curator Barbara London. She invited 16 young artists from around the world to participate here. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 21:10:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 35820 at http://apr.org Florida's Highwaymen Painted Idealized Landscapes In Jim Crow South http://apr.org/post/floridas-highwaymen-painted-idealized-landscapes-jim-crow-south Transcript <p>JACKI LYDEN, HOST: <p>And if you're just joining us, this is WEEKENDS on ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Jacki Lyden.<p>In the winter of 2012, I came across a story on a drive through central coastal Florida in the town of Fort Pierce. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 21:10:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 35822 at http://apr.org Bespoke Suits And Perfect Cravats At 'Dandy' Exhibit http://apr.org/post/bespoke-suits-and-perfect-cravats-dandy-exhibit When you hear the word dandy, what do you think of?<p>Maybe the song "Yankee Doodle Dandy," which dates all the way back to the Revolutionary War, and compares the colonists to foppish, effeminate idiots: the dandies.<p>But a summer exhibit at the Rhode Island School of Design Museum, closing Aug. 18, aims to reclaim the term. It explores dandyism through the ages, linking to the cutting edge of men's fashion and style. The name of the show is "Artist, Rebel, Dandy: Men of Fashion" — which does still leave you wondering what you might see.<br /> Sat, 03 Aug 2013 22:44:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 35365 at http://apr.org Bespoke Suits And Perfect Cravats At 'Dandy' Exhibit Sounds From Space, Recorded By An Astronaut http://apr.org/post/sounds-space-recorded-astronaut Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield arrived at the International Space Station late last month. He has kept busy updating his Twitter followers about life in space. For those on Earth wondering what space sounds like, Hadfield has recorded the sounds of everyday life aboard the ISS, including a toilet flushing. Sun, 13 Jan 2013 22:05:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 23155 at http://apr.org Around The River Bend, A Flood Of History http://apr.org/post/around-river-bend-flood-history The Bark River is my backyard, childhood river. And yet, in a lifetime of travel, I'd never explored it.<p>I knew it carved the land from the Ice Age to settlement times, from the Black Hawk War of 1832 (in which young Abraham Lincoln appears) to the era of grist mills. But the Bark also flows past impressive Indian mounds. Sun, 28 Oct 2012 19:18:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 19876 at http://apr.org Around The River Bend, A Flood Of History Meet Al Black: Florida's Prison Painter http://apr.org/post/meet-al-black-floridas-prison-painter In the 1960s, Al Black could be found cruising up and down Route 1 in his blue-and-white Ford Galaxy — with a trunk full of wet landscape paintings.<p>At the time, he was a salesman who could snatch your breath away and sell it back to you. As artist Mary Ann Carroll puts it, he could "sell a jacket to a mosquito in summer."<p>"A salesman is a con-man," Black readily admits himself today. He's a storyteller. And does he have stories to tell.<p>Black was born on a plantation in Mississippi. One day, he says, a crew boss came by, needing more hands to pick crops. Thu, 05 Jul 2012 07:15:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 14091 at http://apr.org Meet Al Black: Florida's Prison Painter The Highwaymen: Segregation And Speed-Painting In The Sunshine State http://apr.org/post/highwaymen-segregation-and-speed-painting-sunshine-state In the 1960s and '70s, if you were in a doctor's office, or a funeral home, or a motel in Florida, chances are a landscape painting hung on the wall. Palms arching over the water, or moonlight on an inlet. Wed, 04 Jul 2012 16:24:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 14080 at http://apr.org The Highwaymen: Segregation And Speed-Painting In The Sunshine State Chanticleer: A Botanical Distraction From Daily Life http://apr.org/post/chanticleer-botanical-distraction-daily-life Ever wanted to just disappear into a secret garden of earthly delights, of twists and turns of evocative ruin, exuberant tropics, the Zen of a Japanese teahouse?<p>Consider Chanticleer, in Wayne, Pa. It's part of the old Main Line ring of estates around Philadelphia. In fact, right across the street from the garden is the former home of Helen Hope Montgomery Scott, the heiress portrayed by Katherine Hepburn in <em>Philadelphia Story</em>.<p>Chanticleer is, quite simply, one of the most delightful gardens in the world. Sun, 17 Jun 2012 20:03:00 +0000 Jacki Lyden 971 at http://apr.org Chanticleer: A Botanical Distraction From Daily Life