Speaking of Pets http://apr.org en Pet Resorts http://apr.org/post/pet-resorts <p>Gone are the days when your pet had to spend its "vacation" in a cramped cage.&nbsp; Pet resorts have become very popular - with both owners and their furry friends!</p><p>**********************</p><p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 56026 at http://apr.org Pet Resorts Veterinary Medicine Mobility Act http://apr.org/post/veterinary-medicine-mobility-act <p>Generally, the DEA does not approve of storing or transporting controlled substances in vehicles, but for those in the veterinary profession&nbsp;that can be a necessity if they are going to effectively treat their animal patients.</p><p>********************</p><p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 55596 at http://apr.org Veterinary Medicine Mobility Act Hot Spots http://apr.org/post/hot-spots <p>Hot spots are more than just a nuisance; they can cause your dog some real discomfort.&nbsp; Some owners of long-haired dogs get their pets&nbsp;clipped for the summer just to make sure the&nbsp;dog's heavy coat can't trap and hold moisture in the hot weather.</p><p>***********************</p><p> Sat, 05 Jul 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 55088 at http://apr.org Hot Spots Reasons to Adopt a Cat http://apr.org/post/reasons-adopt-cat <p>Some folks consider cats to be aloof and one-dimensional, but those of us who have&nbsp;feline family members know they are funny, affectionate,&nbsp;playful and, yes, independent.&nbsp; But that&nbsp;very spirit that makes them&nbsp;independent also helps to&nbsp;make them lower maintenance pets&nbsp;when compared to, say, dogs.</p><p>********************</p><p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 54721 at http://apr.org Reasons to Adopt a Cat Leaving Pets In Hot Cars http://apr.org/post/leaving-pets-hot-cars <p>The most common cause of heat stroke in a pet is leaving it in a parked car on a warm (not necessarily hot) day.&nbsp; If it's too hot for you to sit in a closed car (or one with the windows slightly cracked), it's too hot for your furry friend.</p><p>*****************************</p><p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 54274 at http://apr.org Leaving Pets In Hot Cars Cat Life Expectancy http://apr.org/post/cat-life-expectancy <p>As cats age, their coat may lose some of its luster but their color often remains much as it was in their younger days. It can be deceptive to judge a cat's age by its color.</p><p>******************************</p><p> Sat, 14 Jun 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 53872 at http://apr.org Cat Life Expectancy Feral Cats and TNR http://apr.org/post/feral-cats-and-tnr <p>Feral cats that have been neutered or spayed also have their left ear "tipped" surgically to indicate the cat is part of a colony and has already been trapped and altered.</p><p>********************************</p><p> Sat, 07 Jun 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 53397 at http://apr.org Feral Cats and TNR Planning for Hurricane Season http://apr.org/post/planning-hurricane-season <p>Having&nbsp;supplies packed and ready to go in case&nbsp;of an emergency&nbsp;can make&nbsp;necessary evacuations easier on everyone.&nbsp; It also helps to practice so you and your pet&nbsp;both know what to expect if and when the real emergency occurs.</p><p>******************************</p><p> Sat, 31 May 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 52869 at http://apr.org Planning for Hurricane Season Tainted Pet Treats http://apr.org/post/tainted-pet-treats <p>About half of jerky pet treats in the US are imported from China.&nbsp; New warnings indicate that such treats could pose serious and even deadly risks to your pet's health.</p><p>*****************************</p><p> Sat, 24 May 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 52550 at http://apr.org Tainted Pet Treats Tara the Hero Cat http://apr.org/post/tara-hero-cat <p>Many of us refer to our pets as our best friends, but a 4-year-old boy can claim his cat is not only his best friend but his hero.&nbsp;&nbsp;She proved that the human-animal bond is strong, and that cats can be just as loyal and protective as their canine counterparts!</p><p>**************************</p><p> Sat, 17 May 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 52091 at http://apr.org Tara the Hero Cat Mother's Day http://apr.org/post/mothers-day <p>In the pet world, Mother's Day has a very different connotation from that in the human&nbsp;experience.&nbsp; Most pet mothers never get to see their babies grow up.&nbsp; This Mother's Day, consider things from your pet's point of view.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Make plans to keep your pet from becoming a mother by having her spayed.&nbsp;</p><p>*******************************</p><p> Sat, 10 May 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 51645 at http://apr.org Mother's Day Puppy and Kitten Season http://apr.org/post/puppy-and-kitten-season <p>The puppies and kittens you see&nbsp;at your local animal shelter are the lucky ones, because they are up for adoption.&nbsp;&nbsp;(The unlucky ones never made it that far.)&nbsp; But even those who did make it to the adoption area still may not find homes.&nbsp; That's the sad reality of pet overpopulation.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>********************************</p><p> Sat, 03 May 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 51235 at http://apr.org Puppy and Kitten Season Autism and Pets http://apr.org/post/autism-and-pets <p>For years people believed that interaction with companion animals was helpful for children with autism, providing them with unconditional love, nonjudgemental friendship, and social interaction.&nbsp; A new study shows that dogs can provide very real benefits for these children.</p><p>***********************</p><p> Sat, 26 Apr 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 50362 at http://apr.org Autism and Pets Easter Dangers for Pets http://apr.org/post/easter-dangers-pets <p>Easter is another holiday that can be a wonderful occasion for humans, but filled with dangers for our pets.&nbsp; It's up to us to make sure our best friends are protected from things that can harm them.&nbsp;</p><p>**************************</p><p> Sat, 19 Apr 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 50345 at http://apr.org Easter Dangers for Pets Easter Bunny http://apr.org/post/easter-bunny <p>Live Easter bunnies grow up to become rabbits.&nbsp;&nbsp;Are you ready for a rabbit as a pet?&nbsp;</p><p>*****************************</p><p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mindy Norton 50023 at http://apr.org Easter Bunny