Ryan Vasquez http://apr.org en Housing Immigrant Children And 911 Tax Hike http://apr.org/post/housing-immigrant-children-and-911-tax-hike <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Thursday July 24, 2014</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:17:03 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56446 at http://apr.org Housing Immigrant Children And 911 Tax Hike Montgomery Base Could House Immigrant Children http://apr.org/post/montgomery-base-could-house-immigrant-children <p></p><p>Maxwell Air Force Base in Montgomery could house immigrant children.</p><p>A spokeswoman for Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley says the federal government has notified the governor that Maxwell is being considered. Communications Director Jennifer Ardis says the governor's chief of staff got a call from the Federal Emergency Management Agency late Wednesday afternoon. She said it's not known how many children could be placed or how soon they might be placed</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:56:16 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56436 at http://apr.org Montgomery Base Could House Immigrant Children Special Sessions And Farley Nuclear's New Resident Inspector http://apr.org/post/special-sessions-and-farley-nuclears-new-resident-inspector <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Wednesday July 23, 2014</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:09:23 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56358 at http://apr.org Special Sessions And Farley Nuclear's New Resident Inspector Health Care Rulings And Calls For Resignations At ASU http://apr.org/post/health-care-rulings-and-calls-resignations-asu <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Tuesday July 22, 2014</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:07:16 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56286 at http://apr.org Health Care Rulings And Calls For Resignations At ASU Bentley Taps Butler As Ala. State Budget Officer http://apr.org/post/bentley-taps-butler-ala-state-budget-officer <p></p><p>Longtime state fiscal expert Kelly Butler is Alabama's new state budget officer.</p><p>Gov. Robert Bentley announced Butler's appointment on Tuesday.</p><p>The state budget officer leads the Executive Budget Office and advises the administration on the state's General Fund and education budgets.</p><p>Butler has been assistant state budget officer for two years. He previously worked for 19 years with the Legislative Fiscal Office, most recently serving as the state Senate's fiscal officer.</p><p>Bentley says Butler brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the job.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:34:26 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56274 at http://apr.org Bentley Taps Butler As Ala. State Budget Officer An "A" For Pain And Democrats In Birmingham http://apr.org/post/pain-and-democrats-birmingham <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Monday July 21, 2014</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:07:33 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56206 at http://apr.org An "A" For Pain And Democrats In Birmingham Unemployment Numbers And "Sweet Home Alabama" http://apr.org/post/unemployment-numbers-and-sweet-home-alabama <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Friday July 18, 2014</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 22:05:26 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56057 at http://apr.org Unemployment Numbers And "Sweet Home Alabama" Changing Sex Ed And Unseasonable Weather http://apr.org/post/changing-sex-ed-and-unseasonable-weather <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Thursday July 17, 2014</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:09:12 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55996 at http://apr.org Changing Sex Ed And Unseasonable Weather Runoff Election History And Apollo 11 http://apr.org/post/runoff-election-history-and-apollo-11 <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Wednesday July 16, 2014</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:30 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55910 at http://apr.org Runoff Election History And Apollo 11 Primary Runoffs And Sarah Patterson Steps Down http://apr.org/post/primary-runoffs-and-sarah-patterson-steps-down <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Tuesday July 15, 2014</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:05:58 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55838 at http://apr.org Primary Runoffs And Sarah Patterson Steps Down Health Insurance Options And Prison Changes http://apr.org/post/health-insurance-options-and-prison-changes <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Monday July 14, 2014</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 22:11:59 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55765 at http://apr.org Health Insurance Options And Prison Changes Free School Lunch and Release The Goats! http://apr.org/post/free-school-lunch-and-release-goats <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Friday July 11, 2014</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:05:40 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55617 at http://apr.org Free School Lunch and Release The Goats! Mobile's Online Curriculum And A New Labor Commissioner http://apr.org/post/mobiles-online-curriculum-and-new-labor-commissioner <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Wednesday July 9, 2014</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 22:08:23 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55447 at http://apr.org Mobile's Online Curriculum And A New Labor Commissioner Gov. Bentley Names New Labor Commisioner http://apr.org/post/gov-bentley-names-new-labor-commisioner <p></p><p>Governor Robert Bentley has appointed Fitzgerald Washington to be the next Commissioner of the Alabama Department of Labor.</p><p>Washington has spent the last 15 years working for The Buffalo Rock Company. While there he served as Corporate Marketing and Sales Director handling the company’s multicultural marketing initiatives before being promoted to General Sales Manager in 2002.</p><p>Governor Bentley also appointed Washington to the Alabama Workforce Council. Washington replaces Tom Surtees who stepped down as labor commissioner late last month.</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:31:17 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55446 at http://apr.org Gov. Bentley Names New Labor Commisioner Guns, Voting, And Shrinking Populations http://apr.org/post/guns-voting-and-shrinking-populations <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Tuesday July 8, 2014</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 22:06:43 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55379 at http://apr.org Guns, Voting, And Shrinking Populations