Ryan Vasquez http://apr.org en Unseasonably Cool Weather And Shrimp Shells To Uranium http://apr.org/post/unseasonably-cool-weather-and-shrimp-shells-uranium <p>4:32 pm Newscast</p><p>Monday July 28, 2014</p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:07:55 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56644 at http://apr.org Unseasonably Cool Weather And Shrimp Shells To Uranium Mercedes, Labor Relations, And A Removed ASU Trustee http://apr.org/post/mercedes-labor-relations-and-removed-asu-trustee <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Friday July 25, 2014</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:07:03 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56508 at http://apr.org Mercedes, Labor Relations, And A Removed ASU Trustee Report Says Alabama Crime Down 4 Percent http://apr.org/post/report-says-alabama-crime-down-4-percent <p></p><p>A new report says the crime rate in Alabama went down 4 percent in 2013.</p><p>The annual report from the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center says 173,916 crimes were reported by law enforcement agencies in Alabama in 2013. That was down from 181,752 crimes in 2012. It was the second consecutive year for a decrease.</p><p>The center reports that property crimes were down 5 percent, burglaries down 11 percent and robberies down 6 percent. Homicides were up 5 percent and crimes involving motor vehicles went up 9 percent.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 20:47:31 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56499 at http://apr.org Report Says Alabama Crime Down 4 Percent Housing Immigrant Children And 911 Tax Hike http://apr.org/post/housing-immigrant-children-and-911-tax-hike <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Thursday July 24, 2014</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:17:03 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56446 at http://apr.org Housing Immigrant Children And 911 Tax Hike Montgomery Base Could House Immigrant Children http://apr.org/post/montgomery-base-could-house-immigrant-children <p></p><p>Maxwell Air Force Base in Montgomery could house immigrant children.</p><p>A spokeswoman for Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley says the federal government has notified the governor that Maxwell is being considered. Communications Director Jennifer Ardis says the governor's chief of staff got a call from the Federal Emergency Management Agency late Wednesday afternoon. She said it's not known how many children could be placed or how soon they might be placed</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:56:16 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56436 at http://apr.org Montgomery Base Could House Immigrant Children Special Sessions And Farley Nuclear's New Resident Inspector http://apr.org/post/special-sessions-and-farley-nuclears-new-resident-inspector <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Wednesday July 23, 2014</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:09:23 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56358 at http://apr.org Special Sessions And Farley Nuclear's New Resident Inspector Health Care Rulings And Calls For Resignations At ASU http://apr.org/post/health-care-rulings-and-calls-resignations-asu <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Tuesday July 22, 2014</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:07:16 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56286 at http://apr.org Health Care Rulings And Calls For Resignations At ASU Bentley Taps Butler As Ala. State Budget Officer http://apr.org/post/bentley-taps-butler-ala-state-budget-officer <p></p><p>Longtime state fiscal expert Kelly Butler is Alabama's new state budget officer.</p><p>Gov. Robert Bentley announced Butler's appointment on Tuesday.</p><p>The state budget officer leads the Executive Budget Office and advises the administration on the state's General Fund and education budgets.</p><p>Butler has been assistant state budget officer for two years. He previously worked for 19 years with the Legislative Fiscal Office, most recently serving as the state Senate's fiscal officer.</p><p>Bentley says Butler brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the job.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:34:26 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56274 at http://apr.org Bentley Taps Butler As Ala. State Budget Officer An "A" For Pain And Democrats In Birmingham http://apr.org/post/pain-and-democrats-birmingham <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Monday July 21, 2014</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:07:33 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56206 at http://apr.org An "A" For Pain And Democrats In Birmingham Unemployment Numbers And "Sweet Home Alabama" http://apr.org/post/unemployment-numbers-and-sweet-home-alabama <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Friday July 18, 2014</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 22:05:26 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 56057 at http://apr.org Unemployment Numbers And "Sweet Home Alabama" Changing Sex Ed And Unseasonable Weather http://apr.org/post/changing-sex-ed-and-unseasonable-weather <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Thursday July 17, 2014</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:09:12 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55996 at http://apr.org Changing Sex Ed And Unseasonable Weather Runoff Election History And Apollo 11 http://apr.org/post/runoff-election-history-and-apollo-11 <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Wednesday July 16, 2014</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:30 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55910 at http://apr.org Runoff Election History And Apollo 11 Primary Runoffs And Sarah Patterson Steps Down http://apr.org/post/primary-runoffs-and-sarah-patterson-steps-down <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Tuesday July 15, 2014</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:05:58 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55838 at http://apr.org Primary Runoffs And Sarah Patterson Steps Down Health Insurance Options And Prison Changes http://apr.org/post/health-insurance-options-and-prison-changes <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Monday July 14, 2014</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 22:11:59 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55765 at http://apr.org Health Insurance Options And Prison Changes Free School Lunch and Release The Goats! http://apr.org/post/free-school-lunch-and-release-goats <p>5pm Newscast</p><p>Friday July 11, 2014</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:05:40 +0000 Ryan Vasquez 55617 at http://apr.org Free School Lunch and Release The Goats!