Anastasia Tsioulcas http://apr.org en How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game http://apr.org/post/how-3-tenors-sang-hits-and-changed-game <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcGoY4COi-I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNQeKvVPPlc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXQGyYy-oZI</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 13:47:42 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 55946 at http://apr.org How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 http://apr.org/post/rafael-fruhbeck-de-burgos-versatile-spanish-conductor-dies-80 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMALVK_I8hE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlZ3FmBzbo4</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 13:53:37 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 53836 at http://apr.org Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music http://apr.org/post/what-weeks-debate-have-shown-us-about-women-classical-music An astonishing conversation has emerged in the weeks since Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught began her run as Octavian at the Glyndebourne Festival in England. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 22:10:16 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 53199 at http://apr.org What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women http://apr.org/post/2014-classical-world-still-cant-stop-fat-shaming-women <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPquOVVEwws</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:12:26 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 52395 at http://apr.org In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found http://apr.org/post/midspring-surprise-lost-mendelssohn-song-found <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-tb_m8SD04</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 14:30:23 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 51494 at http://apr.org Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found Update: 'I Have Begun To Hear A Little Again' http://apr.org/post/popular-japanese-composer-confesses-musical-fraud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4aVaTODSH4</p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 16:23:48 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 46391 at http://apr.org Update: 'I Have Begun To Hear A Little Again' Watch Musicians Elevate A Trip To A Big-Box Store http://apr.org/post/watch-musicians-elevate-trip-big-box-store <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86ukcgSnME0</p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 18:09:52 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 45908 at http://apr.org Watch Musicians Elevate A Trip To A Big-Box Store Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor http://apr.org/post/tracing-career-claudio-abbado-consummate-conductor <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmozblR_9Pk</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 21:52:41 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 45491 at http://apr.org Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? http://apr.org/post/guess-whos-singing-national-anthem-super-bowl She's probably not among your first, or second, or 10th, or 20th-round guesses, but the NFL <a href="http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000316164/article/renee-fleming-to-sing-national-anthem-at-super-bowl-xlviii" target="_blank">just announced</a> that American soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15656760/renee-fleming" target="_blank">Renee Fleming</a> will sing the national anthem at Super Bowl XLVIII on Feb. 2.<p>Fleming is the first-ever opera singer to be given the honor. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 45357 at http://apr.org Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? Hear What Happened At Boston's Symphony Hall After JFK's Assassination http://apr.org/post/hear-what-happened-bostons-symphony-hall-after-jfks-assassination <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVNKNz-lc6k</p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 14:53:18 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 42053 at http://apr.org Hear What Happened At Boston's Symphony Hall After JFK's Assassination Britten Goes Back To Brooklyn With Nicholas Phan http://apr.org/post/britten-goes-back-brooklyn-nicholas-phan Composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/91351892/benjamin-britten" target="_blank">Benjamin Britten</a>, whose 100th birth <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/246156290/britten-at-100" target="_blank">anniversary</a> falls on Nov. 22nd, is so deeply associated with his native England that he's on a <a href="http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/10278313/Benjamin-Britten-joins-the-Queen-as-only-person-with-full-name-of-50p-piece.html" target="_blank">new 50-pence coin</a> issued by the Royal Mint. Wed, 20 Nov 2013 16:30:50 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41919 at http://apr.org Britten Goes Back To Brooklyn With Nicholas Phan Act Like You Know: Benjamin Britten http://apr.org/post/act-you-know-benjamin-britten British composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/91351892/benjamin-britten" target="_blank">Benjamin Britten</a> was born 100 years ago this Friday, Nov. 22. Before you ask "Benja-who?" consider this: Did you see Wes Anderson's film <em>Moonrise Kingdom</em> last summer, or Pedro Almodovar's <em>Talk to Her</em> back a decade or so ago? (Well, maybe you have to be an art-house denizen for those. Wed, 20 Nov 2013 16:30:15 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41918 at http://apr.org Act Like You Know: Benjamin Britten And You Think You're Having A Bad Day http://apr.org/post/and-you-think-youre-having-bad-day <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJXnYMl_SuA</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 13:51:48 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 40723 at http://apr.org And You Think You're Having A Bad Day Behind The Latest Round Of Bruised Feelings At The Minnesota Orchestra http://apr.org/post/behind-latest-round-bruised-feelings-minnesota-orchestra In Minneapolis right now, even small matters have the potential to escalate — fast. Mon, 26 Aug 2013 13:46:32 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36700 at http://apr.org Behind The Latest Round Of Bruised Feelings At The Minnesota Orchestra Reunited After 50 Years, An Algerian Buena Vista Social Club Makes Its U.S. Debut http://apr.org/post/reunited-after-50-years-algerian-buena-vista-social-club-makes-its-us-debut <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RVN1ZvHZCk</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 06:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35613 at http://apr.org Reunited After 50 Years, An Algerian Buena Vista Social Club Makes Its U.S. Debut