Mara Liasson http://apr.org en As Political Disenchantment Soars, Lines At The Polls Grow Shorter http://apr.org/post/political-disenchantment-soars-lines-polls-grow-shorter Several new surveys show voter interest is low, anti-incumbent sentiment is high, and voters from both parties are questioning whether their elected leaders should return to Congress next year.<p>In short, the electorate is disengaged and disgusted with politics.<p>Voter turnout in the 2010 primaries was only about 18 percent, and now it's even lower. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 20:55:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 56501 at http://apr.org As Political Disenchantment Soars, Lines At The Polls Grow Shorter Obamacare's Split Decisions Spell Law's Possible Return To Supreme Court http://apr.org/post/obamacares-split-decisions-spell-laws-possible-return-supreme-court Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Let's talk now about policy ramifications and political reactions to today's court ruling. For that, we're joined by NPR national correspondent Mara Liasson. Hey there, Mara.<p>MARA LIASSON, BYLINE: Hi Audie.<p>CORNISH: So we have, in effect, a split decision. Two appeals courts ruling in different ways. What's the political spin so far?<p>LIASSON: Well, both sides are claiming victory, not surprisingly. The White House says it's extremely confident that when the Supreme Court finally resolves this issue, they will prevail. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:14:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 56265 at http://apr.org Obama Signs Order To Protect Against Anti-LGBT Bias http://apr.org/post/obama-signs-order-protect-against-anti-lgbt-bias Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>President Obama signed an executive order today giving new employment protections to gay and transgender people. And this is for people who work for the government. NPR's national political correspondent Mara Liasson reports that the move comes after years of pressure from LGBT activists.<p>MARA LIASSON, BYLINE: At the White House today, President Obama signed the order saying we're on the right side of history. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 56183 at http://apr.org Amid Roiled Landscape Of Border Politics, Obama's Plans May Change http://apr.org/post/amid-roiled-landscape-border-politics-obamas-plans-may-change The Obama administration's request for more funds on immigration could get a congressional vote soon. Meanwhile, the crisis at the border is complicating Obama's plan to take unilateral action to ease deportations. The politics of immigration are shifting quickly. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 55974 at http://apr.org Contraceptive Ruling Becomes Campaign Trail Flashpoint http://apr.org/post/contraceptive-ruling-becomes-campaign-trail-flashpoint Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Democrats in the Senate have unveiled legislation to override the recent Supreme Court decision on contraceptives.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>In that decision, the court sided with the owners of Hobby Lobby, a chain of craft stores, ruling that many businesses do not have to pay for health insurance to cover contraceptives if they object on religious grounds.<p>SCOTT HORSLEY, BYLINE: The new legislation is unlikely to pass, but the Hobby Lobby decision has become a flashpoint ahead of the midterm elections. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 10:52:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 55476 at http://apr.org Obama Requests Nearly $4 Billion In Funds To Speed Deportations http://apr.org/post/obama-requests-nearly-4-billion-funds-speed-deportations Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>It's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. Today, a big request from the White House to Congress - President Obama is asking for an emergency appropriation of $3.7 billion to deal with the influx of migrant children illegally crossing the border. The administration would use the money to speed up deportations for children who have no legal basis to stay in the U.S. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 55363 at http://apr.org On The Waterfront, Obama Contends Bridge Repair Coffers Beg Refilling http://apr.org/post/waterfront-obama-contends-bridge-repair-coffers-beg-refilling Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. President Obama turned his attention away from immigration and Supreme Court decisions today to highlight the federal Highway Trust Fund. That's the source of financing for road and bridge repair nationwide. The president is calling for new ways to replenish the fund and he did that while standing near a bridge, the one in Washington that's named first Francis Scott Key. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 54942 at http://apr.org NPR Poll: In Senate Battleground States, Obama Ratings Lag http://apr.org/post/npr-poll-senate-battleground-states-obama-ratings-lag In the key battleground states that will decide control of the Senate this November, President Obama's approval numbers are lower than they are nationally — but not much lower.<p>That's the key finding in <a href="http://media.npr.org/documents/2014/NPR-RR-DC-Senate-Btlgnd-NPR-Only.pdf">a new poll</a>, conducted by Democrat Stan Greenberg of Democracy Corps and Republican Whit Ayres of Resurgent Republic, that sampled likely voters for NPR.<p>In the 12 states with competitive Senate races this fall, only 38 percent of likely voters said they approved of the way the president is handling his jo Thu, 19 Jun 2014 09:14:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 54168 at http://apr.org NPR Poll: In Senate Battleground States, Obama Ratings Lag White House Dogged By Group Responsible For Iraq Crisis http://apr.org/post/white-house-dogged-group-responsible-iraq-crisis The crisis in Iraq has become a political problem for President Obama. Analysts say the White House needs to stop Iraq and Syria from becoming safe havens for terrorists. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:26:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 54037 at http://apr.org The Challenges Behind Accurate Opinion Polls http://apr.org/post/challenges-behind-accurate-opinion-polls This week's stunning defeat of House Majority Leader Eric Cantor came after his internal polls showed him winning — instead he lost by double digits. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 09:02:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 53813 at http://apr.org Shocking Upset: House Majority Leader Eric Cantor Loses Primary http://apr.org/post/shocking-upset-house-majority-leader-eric-cantor-loses-primary Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. This morning, Washington is trying to make sense of one of the most stunning upsets in congressional history. House Majority Leader Eric Cantor of Virginia, a man many expected to be the next Speaker of the House of Representatives, was defeated in his Republican primary by Tea Party activist David Brat. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 53654 at http://apr.org Tea Party Challenger Upsets Eric Cantor In GOP Primary http://apr.org/post/tea-party-challenger-upsets-eric-cantor-gop-primary In a surprise result, voters in Virginia's 7th Congressional District have dealt a defeat to House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, nominating Tea Party challenger David Brat instead in the GOP primary. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 00:31:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 53646 at http://apr.org With New Order, Obama Aims To Combat Student Debt Pressures http://apr.org/post/new-order-obama-aims-combat-student-debt-pressures President Obama is signing an executive order Monday, which will expand a loan forgiveness program for college debt. NPR's Mara Liasson looks at the program and the political salience of the issue. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 53539 at http://apr.org Sen. Cochran In Danger Of Losing Primary To Tea Party Candidate http://apr.org/post/sen-cochran-danger-losing-primary-tea-party-candidate The most closely watched of Tuesday's primaries was the race in Mississippi, where incumbent Republican Senator Thad Cochran was fending off a challenge from Tea Party-backed Chris McDaniel. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 53208 at http://apr.org Environmentalists Hail Reduced Emission Rules, Others Criticize http://apr.org/post/environmentalists-hail-reduced-emission-rules-others-criticize Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. President Obama's administration hopes his latest climate initiative will influence the United States long after he is gone.<p>GREENE: The president leaves office at the beginning of 2017, but the goal of the latest regulations is to sharply reduce emissions of gases linked to climate change by the year 2030. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 11:57:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 53156 at http://apr.org