Chuck Quirmbach http://apr.org en Harley Hopes An Electric Hog Will Appeal To Young, Urban Riders http://apr.org/post/harley-hopes-electric-hog-will-appeal-young-urban-riders Many motorcycle riders covet the distinctive growl of a Harley-Davidson — and sometimes even add extra-loud exhaust pipes to amp up the sound.<p>But the motorcycle maker has now rolled out a prototype bike that makes more of a whisper than a rumble. It's a sporty-looking model called LiveWire, and it's powered by batteries.<p>Harley-Davidson plans to take its prototype electric motorcycle to more than 30 cities over the next few months. Sat, 28 Jun 2014 21:21:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 54787 at http://apr.org Harley Hopes An Electric Hog Will Appeal To Young, Urban Riders Manufacturing Association Wants Progress In Obama's Trade Agenda http://apr.org/post/manufacturing-association-wants-progress-obamas-trade-agenda Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>A leader of the U.S. manufacturing sector is calling on Congress and the president to put aside their differences. Jay Timmons, who is head of the National Association of Manufacturers, would like to see some progress on the president's trade agenda.<p>Chuck Quirmbach of Wisconsin Public Radio reports.<p>CHUCK QUIRMACH, BYLINE: Timmons was in Milwaukee to deliver his association's annual State of Manufacturing address. He says he chose Wisconsin partly because it has one of the highest percentages of workers in the manufacturing field. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 47054 at http://apr.org Native Americans Camp Out To Protest Wis. Mining Project http://apr.org/post/native-americans-camp-out-protest-wis-mining-project A dispute over a proposed iron ore mine in Wisconsin has spilled into the nearby woods. Native Americans have set up a camp to protect land near the mine site and say federal treaty rights allow the campers to stay. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 20:36:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 37259 at http://apr.org Donations Help Detroit Bury Unclaimed Bodies http://apr.org/post/donations-help-detroit-burry-unclaimed-bodies Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>And I'm Linda Wertheimer. As we've reported on Detroit's financial woes, we've told you about services the city has struggled to maintain. Scarce funding has even forced Detroit to delay burying unclaimed bodies for a year or more. Many of them are homeless people. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 35407 at http://apr.org Amid VP Run, Ryan Working To Keep House Seat http://apr.org/post/amid-vp-run-ryan-working-keep-house-seat Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Paul Ryan is not just Mitt Romney's vice presidential running mate. He is also a member of the House of Representatives from Wisconsin, of course, and a candidate for another term. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 11:05:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 19742 at http://apr.org Milwaukee Sikhs Remember Shooting Victims http://apr.org/post/milwaukee-sikhs-remember-shooting-victims Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>On a Tuesday in August, it's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>I am nothing but an American. Those are some of the words we are about to hear from Americans Sikhs after a shooting over the weekend. A gunman targeted a Sikh temple in Wisconsin, killing six people before police killed him. Tue, 07 Aug 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 15779 at http://apr.org