Don Noble's Book Reviews http://apr.org en Truman Capote: A Literary Life at the Movies http://apr.org/post/truman-capote-literary-life-movies <p></p><p><strong>Truman Capote: A Literary Life at the Movies</strong><br />Author: Tison Pugh</p><p><i>Transcript to be added soon</i></p> Tue, 19 Aug 2014 14:42:25 +0000 Don Noble 57956 at http://apr.org Truman Capote: A Literary Life at the Movies On a Darkling Plain http://apr.org/post/darkling-plain <p></p><p><b>On a Darkling Plain &nbsp;</b><br />Author: Betty Jean Tucker</p><p><i>Transcript to be added soon.</i></p> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 57957 at http://apr.org On a Darkling Plain Gruesome: A Novel Drawn from True Crime http://apr.org/post/gruesome-novel-drawn-true-crime <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp; Author: &nbsp;Donald Brown</span></p><p><em>Transcript to be added soon. &nbsp;</em></p> Mon, 04 Aug 2014 13:58:46 +0000 Don Noble 57036 at http://apr.org Gruesome: A Novel Drawn from True Crime Alabama Scoundrels http://apr.org/post/alabama-scoundrels <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Authors: &nbsp;Kelly Kazek &amp; Wil Elrick</span></p><p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Transcript to be added soon.</span></em></p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 57045 at http://apr.org Alabama Scoundrels The White Lie http://apr.org/post/white-lie <p>Author: &nbsp;Phillip Shirley</p><p><em>Transcript to be added soon.</em></p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 57044 at http://apr.org The White Lie The Newspaper Boy http://apr.org/post/newspaper-boy <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Author: &nbsp;Chervis Isom</p><p><br /><em>Transcript to be added soon.</em></p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 57043 at http://apr.org The Newspaper Boy Waffle House Rules http://apr.org/post/waffle-house-rules <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><b>“Waffle House Rules”</b><br />Author: Joe Formichella<br />Publisher: River’s Edge Media<br />Pages: 183<br />Price: $16.00 (Paperback)</p><p>Joe Formichella has had considerable success with a book on a black baseball league in Pritchard, Alabama, “Here’s to You, Jackie Robinson,” and a first novel, “The Wreck of the Twilight Limited,” nearly a true-life novel about the catastrophic 1993 Amtrak train wreck on a bridge over Bayou Canot north of Mobile.</p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 57042 at http://apr.org Waffle House Rules Send the Alabamians: World War I Fighters in the Rainbow Division http://apr.org/post/send-alabamians-world-war-i-fighters-rainbow-division <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><b>“Send the Alabamians: World War I Fighters in the Rainbow Division”</b><br />Author: Nimrod Frazer, with a Foreword by Edwin C. Bridges<br />Publisher: University of Alabama Press<br />Pages: 344<br />Price: $34.95 (Hardback)</p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 57041 at http://apr.org Send the Alabamians: World War I Fighters in the Rainbow Division Booty Bones http://apr.org/post/booty-bones <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><b>“Booty Bones: A Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery”</b><br />Author: Carolyn Haines<br />Publisher: St. Martin’s Publishing Group, Minotaur Books<br />Pages: 355<br />Price: $24.99 (Hardback)</p><p>Carolyn Haynes has now published 14 Sarah Booth Delaney “Bones” mysteries over the past 15 years.</p><p>What started as a series set at Dahlia House, in Sunflower County, Zinnia, in the Mississippi Delta, has done some travelling.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 14:24:56 +0000 Don Noble 57039 at http://apr.org Booty Bones Fear and What Follows: The Violent Education of a Christian Racist http://apr.org/post/fear-and-what-follows-violent-education-christian-racist <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><b>“Fear and What Follows: The Violent Education of a Christian Racist: A Memoir”</b><br />Author: Tim Parrish<br />Publisher: University Press of Mississippi: Willie Morris Books in Memoir and Biography<br />Pages: 263<br />Price: $28.00 (Hardback)</p><p>A river of books has come out of the civil rights moment: large-scale general histories like Taylor Branch’s three volume “America in the King Years” and more focused studies such as Diane McWhorter’s investigation of the Movement in Birmingham, ”Carry Me Home.”</p> Mon, 26 May 2014 14:14:57 +0000 Don Noble 57038 at http://apr.org Fear and What Follows: The Violent Education of a Christian Racist Come Landfall: A Novel http://apr.org/post/come-landfall-novel <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><b>“Come Landfall: A Novel”</b><br />Author: Roy Hoffman<br />Publisher: University of Alabama Press<br />Pages: 232<br />Price: $29.95 (Cloth)</p><p>The novels of Roy Hoffman seem to flow from two sources.</p> Mon, 19 May 2014 14:08:02 +0000 Don Noble 57037 at http://apr.org Come Landfall: A Novel Lion Plays Rough: A Leo Maxwell Mystery http://apr.org/post/lion-plays-rough-leo-maxwell-mystery <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><b>“Lion Plays Rough: A Leo Maxwell Mystery”<br />Author: Lachlan Smith<br />Publisher: The Mysterious Press: An Imprint of Grove/Atlantic<br />Pages: 246<br />Price: $24.00 (Cloth)</b></p><p>Just last year, 2013, Lachlan Smith, a Birmingham attorney practicing civil rights and employment law, published his debut thriller, “Bear Is Broken.” Smith was well prepared to write that novel, having studied writing at Stanford and Cornell and then getting a law degree from UC Berkeley in 2009.</p> Mon, 12 May 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 56175 at http://apr.org Lion Plays Rough: A Leo Maxwell Mystery Brother Sid: A Novel of Sidney Lanier http://apr.org/post/brother-sid-novel-sidney-lanier <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><b>“Brother Sid: A Novel of Sidney Lanier”<br />Author: May Lamar<br />Publisher: The Donnell Group<br />Pages: 265<br />Price: $22.95 (Cloth)</b></p> Mon, 05 May 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 56174 at http://apr.org Brother Sid: A Novel of Sidney Lanier Second Cup http://apr.org/post/second-cup <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><strong>“Second Cup of Coffee: Collected Columns”<br />By Mary Adams Belk<br />Introduction by Joe McAdory<br />2014<br />Auburn, Alabama<br />Solomon &amp; George Publishers<br />$18.00 (Paper)<br />209 pp.</strong></p><p>Mary Belk has written a weekly column for the “Opelika-Auburn News” for many years and of course her readers have urged her to collect these columns and make them available as a single volume.</p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 56171 at http://apr.org Second Cup The Secret of Magic http://apr.org/post/secret-magic <p><strong>“The Secret of Magic”<br />Author: Deborah Johnson<br />Publisher: P.G. Putnam’s Sons<br />Pages: 394<br />Price: $26.95 (Cloth)</strong></p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Don Noble 56170 at http://apr.org The Secret of Magic